I love boring colors lately!

Despite my issues with Noro Silk Garden–the price, mainly, and then all the little squiggly white fibers in the yarn that remind me of quinoa–I fell completely in love with its natural colorways, 267 and 269, after seeing 269 on CosmicPluto’s blog. When I was at Article Pract and spotted both colorways in their bins of Silk Garden, it seemed like a great opportunity to support a local yarn store/do some souvenir shopping/cave in to my greed for these colors. So I picked up one skein of each and cast on for another stripy scarf almost immediately.

Noro Kureyon comes in natural colors as well (149 and 211, I think), but I don’t think they’re nearly as nice as the Silk Garden. Kureyon has a matte, felted finish to it, making the colors look almost like flat pigments on the surface of the yarn, whereas Silk Garden has a subtle, rich shine from the silk and mohair, with the color and texture broken up a bit by the little white quinoa-fibers, and consequently the color looks much deeper. I don’t mind the flatness of Kureyon’s texture when it comes to its specialty, rainbow/crayon colors, but I think the natural colors definitely look nicer in Silk Garden.

(If you’re wondering how Plymouth Boku compares, it is very softly spun, lacking the felty, hard quality of Kureyon, and it’s not shiny like Silk Garden–I think the silk content in Boku manifests in small, pale, tweedy flecks in the yarn, sort of like in Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool.)

Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed every stitch of this project because of the fabulous yarn. Maybe one of these days, I’ll plonk down $100 and make myself a natural-colored, stripy Silk Garden pullover.

The Birch and Oak Scarf


(I’ve been playing with Picnik!)

Pattern: Child’s Rainbow Scarf from Last Minute Knitted Gifts

Yarn used: 2 skeins Noro Silk Garden, one in color 267 (oak browns), one in color 269 (birch whites)

Needles used: US size 10/6.00 mm

Started: November 24, 2007

Finished: November 26, 2007

Size: 5″ x 53″, pre-blocking, 5″ x 60″, post-blocking

Mods: Mistake rib worked over 29 sts (I don’t remember how many the original pattern uses). I also used a slip-stitch selvage (slip last st of each row purlwise with yarn in front, knit the first stitch of each row through the back loop).

Notes: I had intended to make the scarf for either my dad or my stepdad, since it’s in such nice, neutral colors, but my stepmom, a fellow knitter (less obsessed than I) and lover of yarn, kept gushing “I think that’s the most beautiful yarn I’ve ever seen!” so I think I will give her the scarf instead. She won’t be that surprised by it, since I showed her the scarf in progress when the plan was still to give it to my dad or stepdad, but I think she’ll be pleased by the change in plans. I think my stepdad will get the brown and green striped Forest Rib scarf instead, and my dad will get a scarf in Natural Slate Patons SWS.

