My first pattern has finally been published! It’s one of the winners of the Purlescence Storytellers contest–the challenge: “What would Cinderella Knit?”

I chose to design a garment for Yeh-Shen, a Chinese incarnation of Cinderella from the 9th century B.C., famous for her cloak of kingfisher feathers and her golden slippers.

The design went from this sketch:

yeh-shen

to months of swatching and frogging amidst piles of blue and gold silk yarn,

to this finished product:

capelet
closeup

The pattern is available here for free.

I thought I’d have more bubbly, giddy stuff to write here, but I’m actually feeling an odd mixture of excitement, insecurity, and fear. Having witnessed various nasty online critiques of free patterns, and having only test-knit the one sample in the recommended yarn, I have this dread of logging onto Ravelry tomorrow and seeing a bunch of posts pointing out some dreadful mistake in my pattern, or criticizing the looks of the design (or the model!) My hair looks horrible to me in the high-res photos in the PDF, and I feel awfully chubby, but I know we’re all our own worst critics and I really only have myself to blame for modeling it myself and doing a half-assed job on hair and makeup. And as far as the pattern goes, I’ll just have to wait and see what comes up and take any mistakes as a learning opportunity. As Marion Zimmer Bradley used to write to aspiring authors in reference to her blunt rejection letters, “if you can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen.”

In other news,

– We moved back to Bloomington from our summer sojourn in Cleveland, and are mightily enjoying the heat and calm, and the sounds of cicadas and crickets instead of screaming drug addicts outside our window.

– I’ve finished the knitting of the Shaped Lace Tee from Knitting Lingerie Style–I have yet to see if it actually fits once blocked and seamed up, but if it does, it will have used an incredible 2.5 skeins of Rowan Calmer, under 450 yards for a short-sleeved sweater!
– I’m working on a few other designs; a lace shawl, a summery scarf and sweater, and a couple of hats.

– I got the majority of my yarn stash into Ravelry and was absolutely shocked to discover that I have more than 26 miles of yarn in the house, after just about a year and a half of knitting (although admittedly there are at least a couple thousand yards of laceweight in there)

– but that horrifying number won’t stop me from yarn excitement–I can’t wait to cast on for a Cargo, from Rowan’s Denim People, in dark denim yarn from elann.com, a Tangled Yoke Cardigan in pink Rowan Felted Tweed, or a pair of Selbuvotter in black and cream Knitpicks Telemark or fingering weight Shetland wool–I have a couple of cones of blue and green that I got cheap at WEBS, and my local yarn shop is going to start stocking Jamieson’s yarns, so I can pick up some jumperweight in a contrast color–red, brown, or orange?–for gloves or fine-gauge mittens.

Off to swatch for a while and watch the rest of 1940s House–if I’m lucky, that is; if not, Rahul will be busy watching his latest addiction, a train wreck of a reality show about a house full of young damsels competing for the affections of one Bret Michaels.

