My newest mindless-stockinette WIP is Debbie Bliss’s Lara, from the Alpaca Silk collection. It’s an interesting sweater–you cast on at the left cuff, knit up the sleeve, increase sharply on both sides for the front and back… and that’s as far as I’ve gotten, and I know vaguely what’s supposed to happen next, but I’m enjoying letting the pattern’s mysterious construction unfold as I knit it. I used a provisional cast-on starting at the stockinette for the sleeve; I plan to unzip this at the end and knit ribbing on both cuffs at the same time, to ensure that they’re the same length and that they’re the proper length for my arms.

I’m knitting this in Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran in color 110 Opal, a dark gray color, bought on sale from Fuzzy Mabel ages ago, for relatively cheap–it was $4 a skein, during their free shipping month, and they throw in a 13th skein free if you buy 12.

It’s incredibly nice to work with, thick, buttery-soft, squishy, and bouncy. I keep getting yarn crushes and wanting to fill my entire house with a particular yarn. A couple of months ago, it was Rowan Calmer, a couple of weeks ago, it was Rowan Yorkshire Tweed, a couple of days ago, it was Knitpicks Palette (well, my house is already full of this at the moment), and right now it’s Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran. I can’t wait to finish Lara so I can wear it. I have visions of a hand-turned smooth wood hair pin to fasten it, and have been browsing Etsy and Purlescence with no success so far.

I think my next sweater might be Jess. I’ve already made it once in the same yarn, and it’s a quick and enjoyable knit. I should probably make a pullover or two after that for the cold weather that’s coming soon. I also want some new mittens, some new gloves, some new fingerless gloves, and maybe a new hat and scarf, if I can muster the interest. I have other things I need to be working on.

Bloomington’s gotten cool pretty fast, like a fever breaking. The temperatures were in the 90s a couple of weeks ago and suddenly, the next thing I know, it’s 65-70 degrees out and I start wanting to wear all my handknits at the same time, like a small and enthusiastic child playing dress-up.

