The Lara sweater has grown in a peculiar, puzzle-like way–right front cast on and knit for a ways, joined up with the stitches held on the back and knit along for a while, with many stitches bound off sharply and the right sleeve then knit with decreases where the left one had increases–thrilling, those rows getting shorter and shorter! But maddening, the huge and twisty pile of knitting in your lap, dangling from your needles. It’s more annoying than a top-down raglan because it’s not worked in the round, so it feels incredibly long and floppy, with sleeves or fronts or backs all dangling off to the sides like octopus legs. In fact, I think this passage from Alice in Wonderland perfectly describes my feelings about how it feels to work on this sweater:

“Alice caught the baby with some difficulty, as it was a queer-shaped little creature, and held out its arms and legs in all directions, ‘just like a star-fish,’ thought Alice. The poor little thing was snorting like a steam-engine when she caught it, and kept doubling itself up and straightening itself out again, so that altogether, for the first minute or two, it was as much as she could do to hold it.”

Then the baby turns into a pig.

Insert “awkward pile of knitting” for baby, and hopefully I can soon also insert “elegant, urban, and sophisticated cardigan” for “pig.”

I haven’t really stretched everything out to verify that it will fold itself up in the right way–I really hope I followed the directions properly, because despite the interesting construction, this was really completely mindless stockinette and ribbing and I didn’t think about it much at all while I was knitting it. I worked on it constantly as I did my readings and caught up on videos for class, watched TV, and talked to my mom while she was visiting last weekend.

I finished the right sleeve decreases today and once I get home I’ll take the provisional CO off and work ribbing on both sleeves at the same time. Then comes blocking and seaming. I anticipate using up a total of 11 skeins of yarn on this, i.e. 1023 yards.

If I can finish this by Thursday (I think I can) I’ll be on a roll–cast on for one sweater at knit night, knit like crazy for two weeks, finish it by the next one. My next queued sweater, Jess, should be a snap to finish up in two weeks, although I may get sidetracked by mittens or slippers in the meantime.

