Progress: I knit a couple of feet on my “mindless knitting” project, the Forest Rib Scarf–2-row stripes of brown (color 6) and green (color 3) Plymouth Boku over 27 stitches of mistake rib on size 8 needles.  Although I had my first encounter with Plymouth Boku (a soft singles yarn) pulling apart unexpectedly, overall, it was good, and nothing disastrous happened. I’m planning to give this as a Christmas present to my dad or stepdad.

Anti-progress:  The reason I was working on the mindless knitting was that I realized I had knit several rows of my second Selbuvotter mitten without casting on the extra stitches over the thumb hole, then had to spend the better part of an hour carefully tinking back, stitch by stitch. After which I realized I’d left the pattern book with the thumb instructions at home.

