It was a beautiful day today! Orange and yellow trees everywhere, and by the time I got up, i.e. around 11:30 AM, it was pretty warm and sunny.

I bought a charming little deer made from a fork at the craft fair today, and managed to pass up lots of horrific scented candles (“Grandpa’s Pipe” smelled like the disinfected bathrooms at retirement homes; “Banana” speaks for itself), embroidered canvas Santa tissue box holders, and a sweatshirt reading “JESUS IS AWESOME” in huge orange letters. As usual, people were selling extremely overpriced jewelry and extremely underpriced knitting. $10 for a normal-sized garter stitch scarf? Even if someone paid you $5 to take the acrylic yarn off their hands, you’d still probably be making less than a dollar an hour. One of the ladies selling beaded bracelets, on the other hand, was charging about $85 per bracelet, and they weren’t fancy and labor-intensive seed beed bracelets, or 24 karat gold strung with fancy South Sea pearls, either.

I got lots of vegetable goodness (shiitake mushrooms, arugula, spaghetti squash), plus some kettle corn, tamales, and locally roasted coffee for immediate consumption, at the farmer’s market. I finally shelled out $8.50 for a skein of local millspun alpaca yarn. It’s a beautiful, delicate gray plied worsted weight, 110 yards/50g, and very, very soft. I might make hand warmers with it, or maybe a mini-scarf, or use it for stripes in a scarf. I’ve been admiring that yarn for more than a year now, so I thought I would just stop waffling and go ahead with it.

I bought three knitting books from Amazon with my credit card rewards gift certificate:
Montse Stanley’s Knitter’s Handbook
Knitting New Scarves
Beautiful Knitting Patterns

The library has the first and last ones, but they seem like good reference volumes to have around. Beautiful Knitting has a lot of brioche and Bavarian twisted-stitch patterns in it, and the patterns are charted, so I thought it would be a nice addition to my collection.

As if all that weren’t enough, I saw a yard sale (in November?) on the way home today and spent some time there. Good stuff! There were more clothes than I’ve ever seen at a yard sale, and lots of name brands in my size, to boot, like Abercrombie and Fitch, Lucky jeans, Old Navy, and American Eagle. I ended up getting a 60s-ish printed dress, a couple of blouses, a few tank tops, a striped long-sleeved t-shirt, a t-shirt with a cheery print on it that reminds me of Katamari Damacy, a Kate Spade-esque purse, a nearly new backpack, a lacy gray zip-up sweater, an IU hoodie, and a humungous cabled white wool sweater to be unraveled, all for the princely sum of $8.

I’m not participating in NaBloPoMo, because I’m going on vacation later this month, but I’m pretending to until then. Sorry if the posts are kind of light on actual content; that’s a nearly inevitable consequence of posting every day.

Back to work… yes, on a Saturday night. I’m moonlighting on a project due the 12th, and I’ll feel much less stressed once it’s out of my hair. Since I basically rode my bike around and bought stuff all day, tonight I’ll have to buckle down and be responsible for a few hours. One consequence of that is that I finished my last mindless knitting project (Forest Rib scarf) and started a new one (a bias-knit garter stitch scarf in Peacock Melange and Natural Brown Misti Alpaca Chunky), so I’m making good progress towards my Christmas knitting and stashbusting at the same time as I finish this assignment, which involves watching a lot of videos.

