Those two little skeins from the top of the picture I posted the other day

have transformed themselves into another addition to the menagerie of stripy scarves!

I finished the Earth and Ocean Bias Scarf you see on the left of the picture…

refined my bias knitting techniques a bit, and applied the same pattern to those two skeins of Noro. My intention was for it to be another Christmas present, but I may have to start tailoring my gift knitting a bit more to the actual needs of my recipients, as I don’t think my grandma will really want a rainbow striped scarf for Christmas.

Because it’s below freezing today, my boyfriend helped himself to the Earth and Ocean scarf for his morning ride to school, so I have no new pictures of that today.

I do, however, have some pictures of the new striped scarf:

As I was knitting it, the colors and pattern brought back lots of memories of the colors and objects of my 1980s girlhood:

the diagonal-striped friendship bracelets we used to make out of knotted embroidery floss, safety-pinned to the ripped knees of our stonewashed jeans;

Rainbow Brite and her flying, rainbow-maned horse Starlite;

the black Lycra leggings I had with hot pink stripes up the sides of the legs;

the colorful squares of the Candy Land board;

and the Lisa Frank Trapper Keepers depicting all types of happy fantasy creatures cavorting in clouds of hearts and rainbows in a magical neon wonderland. Lisa Frank always used those same motifs in that same palette, creating a familiar place out of time, like a Thomas Kinkade for the 9-year-old-girl set.

So with Lisa Frank in mind, I decided to name this scarf the Unicorn Pegasus Rainbow Scarf. The pattern, such as it is, can be found in the Free Patterns section. There’s nothing really special about it, it’s just striped garter stitch on the bias, but it makes a nice answer to the eternal question of what to do with two skeins of Noro.

Pattern: The Unicorn Pegasus Rainbow Scarf

Size: Unblocked: 7″ x 52″. Blocked: 5″ x 69″

Yarn used: Noro Kureyon, colors 134 and 153. I like Plymouth Boku better, in general–cheaper, softer, more evenly spun, no VM. The Noro, as many have noted, is full of little leafy pieces, thick, almost unspun sections, and thin, wiry-hard, almost laceweight-thin sections. It does soften and bloom nicely in a bath of Eucalan, so it feels rough afterwards, but not itchy.

Needles used: Size 10/6mm Addi Turbos

Started: 11/6/07

Finished: 11/6/07

Notes: I’m disappointed with my photography skills–none of the photos in natural light conveyed the real fluorescent colors of the Noro. Only the overexposed flash photo brought out the bright colors. I might have to wait for sunnier weather and try again.

