Today’s installment of “What’s taking over orata’s house now?” is brought to you by the fiber Silk.

Elann’s latest foray into Rowan Kidsilk Haze territory is a new yarn called Silken Kydd. They already had a similar mohair laceweight named Super Kydd, a mohair/nylon blend, but their newest offering is actually 70% super kid mohair, 30% silk, just like Kidsilk Haze–and at $6.50 a skein, it’s half the price.

I love the KSH color “Liqueur,” so I got a couple of skeins of Silken Kydd in “Baked Apple” to see if it might be a suitable substitute:
elann silken kydd baked apple

I’ll post some notes once the yarn is actually in my hands and I’ve had a chance to knit it up.

Artfibers Tsuki is a super kid mohair/silk laceweight similarly priced to Silken Kydd, but the colors are limited. I have some gossamer lavender and pink in my stash (I made a Branching Out with some of the lavender last year, but still have half a skein left over) but sadly, they don’t carry that wonderful deep, bloody burgundy.

My mom got me two skeins of this handpainted Manos Silk Blend from Stash, in the colorway “Wildflowers.” I think I’ll use it for a half-linen-stitch scarf for her–for Christmas, if I can manage it, but I have a backup gift plan for her, so this project will wait till last. This is a 30% silk, 70% merino DK weight singles.

manos silk blend wildflowers

I bought two skeins of Fibre Company Terra at Article Pract. This is really pricey, but it’s some of the most gorgeous yarn I have ever seen–the slubby veil of color over the contrasting core is stunning. The two colors I got were “Redwood” and “Light Indigo.” I’m still not sure I made the right choice. I think I might make a two-color brioche scarf from these. 60% merino, 20% baby alpaca, 20% silk.

light indigo fibre company terra

redwood fibre company terra

redwood and light indigo fibre company terra

And while I’m on the topic of silk, here’s an old FO: the Dream Swatch (caution, link is a PDF) in an unnamed vegetable-dyed wool/silk from Deep Color Studio, a small spinning/felting/dyeing shop around the corner from my old house. This has great sentimental value for me, as I bought it just before we moved away from California, and knit it in the car as we drove along the great, dry, sun-drenched highways of the West on our way out to Indiana, finishing it in some seedy motel room in Colorado as we watched late-night true crime shows. I didn’t get around to taking proper pictures of it till now. The colors are great. It’s too short to be much of a scarf, but I can use it quite effectively as a headband. (The modeled pictures are less than flattering, so I won’t post them here, but you can find them on Ravelry)

dream swatch 1

dream swatch 2

dream swatch 3

Pattern: Knit and Tonic‘s Dream Swatch (link is a PDF)

Yarn used: Chunky vegetable-dyed wool/silk blend from Deep Color Studio, 1 skein (110 yards)

Needles used: Size 10

Started: July 27, 2006

Finished: July 29, 2006

Size: Headbandy (let me know if you’re interested in the exact dimensions, and I can measure it)

Mods: I only used 3 repeats of the pattern across instead of 4, and changed needle size to match the yarn.

Notes: Oh-so-pretty, an easy way to show off a handpainted yarn. I saw a pair of fingerless gloves at Urban Outfitters one day and was intrigued by the way the color striped. Looking more closely, I saw that it used this stitch pattern. The elongated stitches make each little run of color in the skein stretch much farther, and serve to break up pooling, so it’s really a great treatment for a variegated yarn. I would actually recommend using a lighter, drapier yarn, like the recommended bamboo–the chunky wool/silk is stiffer than I’d like. (In any case, drape or no drape, I get a lot of compliments on this when I wear it out.)

