Blaaaaah!

I have a serious case of the doldrums. Despite the fact that it’s a sunny Friday and I have things to do for work, and a kitchen sink full of dirty dishes, and a sweater that needs seaming, I don’t feel like doing anything, and everything I’ve done so far today has taken about 10 times longer than usual. I’m drinking a big mug of coffee in the hopes that it will revive me. If I had my druthers right now, I’d just go back to bed and read a book for a few hours.

Maybe it’s Seasonal Affective Disorder. I felt really blue the other day, too, and did a bunch of virtual shopping–putting tons of things in the shopping cart, comparison-shopping for shipping costs, then closing the window–lather, rinse, repeat. I may as well put up links to some of the fun things I was looking at:

Oceanwind Knits yarn. I love all their subtle, murky color blends, especially Truffle and Indigo, but I’m a little afraid they might not look that nice in person–I read a couple of comments on Ravelry about the colors looking really washed out compared to the online photos.

Simplicity 4403. There’s no way I have the sewing skills to make this pattern, but I LOVE the smocked velvet version on Sugar City Journal.

Doilyhead’s Niebling doilies, again. My current favorite is Mallins 44. I was thinking about them again since Kalani mentioned them last night after showing off her amazing silk-cashmere Frost Flowers and Leaves shawl (Ravelry link), which was gorgeous but apparently very boring to knit (unlike, presumably, Niebling patterns).

Marcel the Mime Frog, perhaps the polar opposite in pattern-land of the Niebling pattern

Colinette Jitterbug in the Velvet colors, especially Velvet Damson… so gorgeous despite all the bad things I’ve heard about Jitterbug, like bleeding colors, short yardage, lots of knots.

Rings with little houses on them

Dream in Color yarns, especially Dusky Aurora, which I saw in San Francisco and adored even before Jeanie came out

This Etsy listing

