So Jejune tipped me off that Amazon sells yarn, and not just the dishcloth cotton I found last time I looked. Since I have an Amazon credit card that gives me back 3% on Amazon purchases, I thought I’d go see what was available and how it compares to other retailers. Here are some of my discoveries:

Item Amazon’s price MSRP or competing price
Joseph Galler Belangor Angora Yarn $9.95 (this is being sold by a fly fishing company for tying flies!) $12 at Purl Soho
Cascade Fixation $4.49 $4.60 MSRP
Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock $9.99 $10.00 MSRP
Lorna’s Laces Helen’s Lace $49.95 $48.00 MSRP
Cascade 220 $5.99 $6.60 MSRP
Cascade 220 Superwash $9.49 $9.80 at Jimmy Bean’s
Misti Alpaca Laceweight $6.99 $7.20 at WEBS
     

Spurred on by curiosity about the Belangor angora, I also looked up worm binders, which people on Ravelry were suggesting as an alternative to circular needle binders. Here’s one that looks nice. $15 for 10 ziploc pouches, 8.5 x 4″.

I’m also tempted by this 12 sets of 5 bamboo DPNs, sizes US 1-11, for $19.99.

Maybe I’ll post some more if I get inspired to do any more research. As she mentions, though, you can find good stuff in general if you search for Lorna’s Laces, Cascade, Misti, Catalina, or AlpacaDirect. Or heck, just “yarn” will work, too. Jo-Ann Fabrics sells stuff through Amazon as well, like the cheapo ball winders, but the prices are the same as if you order directly from Jo-Ann–plus you can often find coupons for free shipping or 40% off for Jo-Ann.

