I’m putting off responding to a couple of memes I’ve been tagged for by starting a meme of my own. Casey recently put up a list of the current 100 most popular yarns on Ravelry, both by number of projects and by amount stashed.

Out of the top 50 yarns on Ravelry (by number of projects):
Bold the ones you’ve used and would use again,
Cross out the ones you’ve used and would not use again,
and italicize the ones you’ve never tried, but would like to.
Add comments as desired, and then pass the meme along to 5 knitters/crocheters.
Link back to this post and to the person who tagged you.

Ready? Here’s my list:

1, Cascade 220 Wool, 11967 projects–I made one of my first big projects ever, Tempting, out of this, so it feels like the ur-yarn to me–a good basic weight, texture, price, and great range of colors. I don’t really like winding hanks, though (a complaint that goes for many of the yarns on this list, but has been mitigated with purchase of swift and ballwinder).
2, Patons Classic Wool Merino, 10445 projects–I’ve only made about half a scarf out of this, but was pleasantly surprised at how soft and cheap it was. And it doesn’t have to be wound before knitting. Too bad it doesn’t come in more colors.
3, Malabrigo Yarn Merino Worsted, 8421 projects–astute readers will have noticed that I was converted to Malabrigo’s charms only very recently, but boy, did the yarn-love ever take. I’m working on a scarf in Jewel Blue Malabrigo Merino Worsted right now and I love love love it–the color, the texture, the match with the pattern. I can’t wait to post about it when I’m done.
4, Noro Kureyon, 7947 projects–I just finished a scarf in this yarn. Like many people, I love the colors, but hate the twigs and thorns and roughness. Still, it gets a thumbs up overall.
5, Caron Simply Soft, 7914 projects–Is it weird to want to try an acrylic? It feels so soft on the shelf. I’ll probably get around to it one of these days when I have baby gifts to make.
6, Lily Sugar’n Cream Solid, 6864 projects–dishcloths.
7, Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted, 6619 projects–This yarn is a little hairier than I would like, due to the mohair, but I love my felted clogs to death.
8, Red Heart Ltd. Super Saver Solids, 6176 projects
9, Lion Brand Wool-Ease Solid, 5554 projects–makes an excellent bearded hat.
10, Noro Silk Garden, 5410 projects–I love this stuff–the silk and mohair content makes the colors so pretty and deep.
11, Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino (KPPPM), 5094 projects–I’ve made a grand total of 1.5 socks in my lifetime, but those 1.5 socks were knit from Koigu and it’s a very nice yarn. One of these days I will figure out where I left off on those Pomatomuses (I got distracted partway through switching stitches from needle to needle after the first chart, and then had to tink back, and now have no idea where I am) and complete at least one pair of socks.
12, Knit Picks Wool of the Andes, 5071 projects–nice and cheap.
13, Lion Brand Homespun, 4296 projects–The colors are pretty, but it’s so snaggy and annoying to work with. Never again.
14, Lion Brand Cotton-Ease, 4157 projects–I love the color range for new Cotton-Ease.
15, Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Multi, 4086 projects–I’ve used Shepherd Sport but never the sock weight.
16, Manos del Uruguay 100% Wool, 3989 projects–I’ve worked with the silk blend, but never with the plain wool.
17, Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky , 3927 projects
18, Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran, 3751 projects
19, Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock – Lightweight, 3723 projects
20, Plymouth Encore Worsted, 3573 projects–I’d use this again, with reservations. I really liked it at first, but my Tilted Duster is definitely showing signs of wear now, and the pills are attached by long, tough acrylic strands, so they’re hard to pick off. So the bloom is off the rose for Encore for me.
21, Cascade 220 Heathers, 3422 projects–see notes for Cascade 220 above.
22, Lily Sugar’n Cream Ombres & Prints, 3384 projects
23, Zitron Trekking (XXL), 3348 projects–I have a skein of this in the most beautiful royal blue striping colorway, but since I’m still stuck on sock 1.5, I haven’t used the Trekking for anything yet.
24, Patons SWS (Soy Wool Stripes), 3243 projects–I have such a crush on this yarn. I’ve made a lot of things out of this–scarves, hats, a felted purse… It’s on the itchy side, if you’re sensitive to such things, and can be a bit underspun/uneven, but the colors and striping are gorgeous, it’s widely available, and it felts really well. The only thing is that I tend to think of this as a cheap yarn because I buy it at Michael’s, but it’s really not that cheap unless you use a half-off coupon on every skein, or if it’s on sale.
25, Rowan Kidsilk Haze, 3203 projects–I have a skein or so of this that I got from Leigh in a swap. Can’t wait to try it–I’ve tried the KSH-esque yarns like Tsuki, Elann Silken Kydd, and Elann Super Kydd, but never KSH itself.
26, Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino, 2917 projects
27, Pisgah Yarn & Dyeing Co., Inc Peaches & Creme Ombres, 2658 projects–actually, I’m not sure if what I used before was Sugar ‘n’ Cream or Peaches ‘n’ Creme.
28, Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece, 2512 projects–Maybe I’d use this again… I was going back and forth on this. I found it really splitty to work with, it bleeds, and my Green Gable is covered in little white fuzzies and looks much shabbier than it did originally, so I’d be more likely to try out a different cotton blend next time.
29, Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock – Mediumweight, 2503 projects
30, Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick, 2489 projects
31, Pisgah Yarn & Dyeing Co., Inc Peaches & Creme Solids, 2476 projects
32, Cascade 220 Superwash, 2323 projects
33, Berroco Ultra Alpaca, 2286 projects–see recent posts on Prickle and A Very Plain Hat, I thought this was lovely to work with. I’m planning to get a bit of this stuff from the WEBS anniversary sale, because I really liked it, but I haven’t decided what colors yet or what project to get it for.
34, Knit Picks Swish Superwash, 2226 projects–This is another “yes, but with reservations” yarn. It was very, very soft, but had a weird, almost plasticky feel to it, from the superwash treatment, I guess. I’ve heard it shrinks in the wash and while I haven’t tried machine-washing the mitts I made from it, they do look very shabby and pilly indeed, so I’m not too impressed with the way it holds up.
35, Knit Picks Essential, 2149 projects
36, Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice Solid, 2142 projects
37, Colinette Jitterbug, 2090 projects–Just finished a baby sweater out of this. I love, love, love the Velvet colorways. The baby sweater is in Velvet Leaf, a beautiful semi-solid olivey green.
38, Lion Brand Lion Wool Solid, 2030 projects–Sort of expensive for what it is, unless you use a craft-store coupon. I made some felted slippers out of this and would use it again for that purpose.
39, Knit Picks Shine Sport, 1976 projects
40, Dale of Norway/Dalegarn Baby Ull, 1885 projects–I made a hat from this and it was a very soft and lovely wool to work with. Some colors are on sale for $4 right now at Patternworks, if you like this yarn too.
41, Lion Brand Microspun, 1871 projects
42, Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Merino, 1863 projects
43, Knit Picks Palette, 1765 projects–I love all the heathered colors. I kind of want to make another pair of Bird in Hand mittens with Palette instead of worsted weight one of these days. I’m apparently into instant gratification, though, and my skeins of Palette have been sitting around unloved because I tend to go for things that seem like they’ll knit up faster (even if that’s just an illusion).
44, South West Trading Company TOFUtsies, 1762 projects
45, Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool, 1756 projects–I just destashed a bunch of this without ever making a project from it, but I liked how light and smooth the swatch knit up, and I like the price and colors, so perhaps one day I’ll buy some more and use it in a sweater or something.
46, Mission Falls 1824 Wool, 1725 projects–for some reason I’m just not that interested in this wool. It seems expensive for the yardage.
47, Rowan RYC Cashsoft DK, 1718 projects
48, Red Heart Ltd. Super Saver Multis/Ombres, 1664 projects
49, Rowan Felted Tweed, 1646 projects–I have a bunch of this stashed for a Tangled Yoke Cardigan–bought it at a 40% off LYS moving sale in Cleveland–but I’ve only swatched with it so far. I adore the colors and texture.
50, Rowan Calmer, 1571 projects–I love Calmer. So stretchy and wonderful. But I made almost an entire top-down raglan pullover last summer with Calmer and discovered when I put it on that it was too big, and now I don’t know what to do with it–I don’t have the heart to frog it. If anyone wants to buy or trade for my half-knit Tangerine Calmer pullover (would probably fit a size 34 or 36 well), let me know. Sigh. P.S.: It smells funny because I didn’t let the yarn dry properly when I was trying to straighten the yarn from the recycled skeins.

I’m going to tag:

1. The chemgrrl chronicles

2. All Buttoned Up

3. Hapagirl

4. Team Knit

5. Green Apples

And anyone else who would like to be tagged. Go forth and meme! (Please. I’ll be embarrassed if this meme goes exactly nowhere.)

