On to the second meme, the one goldtop tagged me for: 7 random things about me.

The rules are:
1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.
3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

My seven random facts:

1. I’m lactose-intolerant, but I love dairy. I didn’t realize I had become lactose-intolerant for at least a year after it happened (it’s pretty common to lose the ability to digest lactose as you get older–maintaining the enzymes into adulthood is a mutation, developed primarily in Europe and Africa). I just thought I got mysterious stomachaches all the time, for no particular reason. It was a big relief to figure out what was going on. I still have dairy pretty often, but I have to pop pills.

2. I don’t really understand/appreciate jazz music, except Dixieland and other types of clearly tuneful jazz. Every so often I try to listen to some Coltrane or something so I can learn to like it, but so far I’ve been unsuccessful. I just don’t get it at some fundamental level.

3. While we’re on the topic of me being a philistine, I also don’t really understand/appreciate red wine. I love white wine and can taste all kinds of nuances in different white wines, but almost all red wines just taste like a big mouthful of tannins to me. I can usually tell if a wine is really bad, but I can’t really tell the difference between a $20 red wine and a $200 red wine.

4. Back in Venice, I used to ride a gondola to class.

5. Back in San Francisco, I used to ride a cable car to work.

6. I used to have 4 guinea pigs. I miss them! We started out with two, and because they’d been kept together at the animal shelter before I brought them home, they managed to multiply before we got the boy pig fixed. We eventually gave away the babies, and later the dad pig got kidney failure and we had to put him to sleep. We gave the mom pig to a friend with other guinea pigs when we moved cross-country.

7. I like almost all foods, but I can’t stand horseradish, mustard, wasabi, or anything else with that particular pungent flavor. (Harold McGee says it’s the isothiocyanates.) I have grudgingly come around to the charms of mustard in a few applications, where it’s either sweet or imperceptible–I always make my vinaigrettes with mustard, I had some fabulous sweet Bavarian mustard with pretzels and bratwurst in Munich, and I have to confess to liking honey mustard dipping sauce. (But not the stuff they give you with the fried mushrooms at Nick’s. It’s too mustardy for me.)

I’m tagging:

1. Saibh

2. HistoryWeaver

3. Towniegirl

4. Sockpr0n

5. Chrispy

6. moonstitches

7. slippedstitch

