“‘Are you for woman’s rights, like Eliza?’ Almanzo asked in surprise.

‘No,’ Laura replied. ‘I do not want to vote.'”

–A passage I was recently surprised to rediscover in the final book of the Little House on the Prairie series, These Happy Golden Years, by Laura Ingalls Wilder


Married To The Sea
marriedtothesea.com

A comic from Married to the Sea


Brian Williams: “Governor, are you a feminist?”

Sarah Palin: “I’m not going to label myself anything, Brian.”

–An interview with Sarah Palin by MSNBC’s Brian Williams

Mind-boggling, isn’t it, to hear those words coming out of the mouth of the first Republican female vice presidential candidate in American history? And the first female governor of Alaska? Way to trample the philosophy that got you where you are, Sarah.


Anyway, I happily exercised my right to vote today, and if you’re an American citizen, I hope you did too! I’m waiting with bated breath to see the results come in–I’m about to head off to the student union to watch in good company. It should be a nice ride out there, as today has been unseasonably warm, in the 70s, in early November in Wisconsin. I hope it’s a good sign.

By the way, if you voted for Obama, you might enjoy the Washington Post’s limerick contest. (I’m guessing if you voted for McCain, you probably won’t enjoy these so much.)

