The new Twist Collective is up! I think general consensus on Ravelry is that this is a great issue, and I thoroughly agree. Even the patterns I wasn’t that drawn to, or that I don’t think would work for me personally, are nice in their own way–interesting knitterly details, no craziness like knitted hot pants.

Thoughts:

  • Cityscape is probably my favorite from the whole issue. Simple idea but so cute and wearable, because the city pattern is small and subtle and in a traditional yoked sweater shape.
  • Red Oak is my second favorite. Beautiful, but more dramatic (so a bit less versatile) than Cityscape. I might watch this to see what pops up on Ravelry… I loved Sylvi so much when it first came out, but I saw a lot of people on Ravelry looking like wizards when all was said and done and they had this giant flowery knitted cloak coat with a big hood thrown on over their jeans. I would worry that Red Oak might have the same tendency to look a bit costume-y. I also am not crazy about the way the front panel edge kind of pulls in a bit below the toggles; it’s natural for reverse stockinette, but if I made this, maybe I could line the front oak panel with fabric to help prevent that.
  • Hawthorne is maybe my favorite of Susanna IC’s signature long triangle scarf/shawls that I’ve seen so far. The triple berry edging thing is so pretty.
  • Stratocumulus is intriguing. The unmodeled sweater looks like some kind of weird art project but it folds into such a graceful shape on the model. This is another one where I’d like to see some other guinea pigs on Ravelry make this before committing to it myself; I’d worry that the big folds of extra fabric around the shoulders would read more like Jabba the Hutt than airy cloud on me.
  • Anthera is a pretty set. The cowl looks the same (except unshaped) as the free pattern Vent d’est, vent d’ouest.
  • I love Kiloran but would probably never knit it. In the fantasy world where I did, I would probably do away with the front buttons; that is a lot of buttons for one dress, and I think the lace detail is nice enough without it.
  • Coventry is one of those sweaters I don’t think I’d make, but can appreciate–look at how interesting that attached scarf collar thing is.
  • I love Metro–simple, wearable, chic. Sometimes knitters get ahead of themselves with knitterly but sort of weird-looking sweaters (e.g. something like Coventry)–by contrast, I think this is a cardigan non-knitters would be instantly attracted to.
  • I like Hazelwood but it might be too boxy of a silhouette for me to pull off, I’d end up looking either dumpy or Starfleet, depending on how much ease there was. I also feel like there’s potential for looking like the Michelin Man with the ribbing interrupted into bands on the sleeves like that… I feel like they are just waiting to puff up when you bend your arms. Maybe better to keep the ribbing as a single long line from shoulder to wrist.

So yeah. Twist! And last but not least, the knitted Spanish human hair underpants are one of the most repulsive knitted things I’ve ever seen. Sorry, High Art. It reminds me of David Sedaris’s story about his druggie/artist years, described in Me Talk Pretty One Day:

Hoping to get me off her back, my dealer introduced me to half a dozen hyperactive brainiacs who shared my
taste for amphetamines and love of the word manifesto. Here, finally, was my group. The first meeting was
tense, but I broke the ice by laying out a few lines of crystal and commenting on my host’s refreshing lack of
furniture. His living room contained nothing but an enormous nest made of human hair. It seemed that he
drove twice a week to all the local beauty parlors and barbershops, collecting their sweepings and arranging
them, strand by strand, as carefully as a wren.

“I’ve been building this nest for, oh, about six months now,” he said. “Go ahead, have a seat.”

Other group members stored their bodily fluids in baby-food jars or wrote cryptic messages on packaged skirt
steaks. Their artworks were known as “pieces,” a phrase I enthusiastically embraced. “Nice piece,” I’d say. In
my eagerness to please, I accidentally complimented chipped baseboards and sacks of laundry waiting to be
taken to the cleaners. Anything might be a piece if you looked at it hard enough. High on crystal, the gang and
I would tool down the beltway admiring the traffic cones and bright yellow speed bumps. The art world was
our conceptual oyster, and we ate it raw.

